Slainte!

Black dirt farms where boots catch in thick mud, a thatched roof protecting rough-hewn wooden tables, fireplaces wide enough for three women standing, and  the lingering smell of peat moss still hanging heavy after the burn off of foggy mornings….this is the Ireland I have seen.  They say that everyone is Irish today but luckily, I really am.  Many thanks to my Grandparents who kept the family line moving along.  I come from a lengthy lineage of, among other things, Irish farmers and artists and consider this a blessing in itself.  Having knocked around the world a bit, I can still say that Ireland is one of the most beautiful places I’ve been (nope, no bias here AT ALL – just keep moving along).

Because the rest of my day will be spent slow cooking corned beef and churning out Irish Soda breads (yup, family recipe passed down for generations – didn’t I mention I’m lucky?) this will be a quick post.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone!

Here is my own Irish blessing for you: 

May the words flow generously from pen to pages,

May your art shine with your spirit,

May your muse dance by your side,

And may your heart be filled with the lightness of creation.

By Laura Elaro

12 thoughts on “Slainte!

  1. Many thanks! And BTW – I really like your tag “namelessneed”. Sums up what so many are searching for. Have a great day!
    Warmly,
    Laura

    • Thanks ~
      Nice blog you have there! Think I’ll follow along for awhile.
      Blessed be Uncle Tree!
      Warmly,
      Laura

  2. Laura, thanks for the newer version of the Irish good wishes! I hope you had a fabulous St. Patrick’s Day. I just saw the Guinness chocolate chip cookies, and by the luck of the Irish, I just happen to have Guinness in my fridge right now. I’m off to bake!

    • St. Pat’s was great! Hope you had a great day as well. How were your cookies? Made mine on Sat. and they were a huge hit! When you get some time you should trawl around Lea & Jay’s blog. The Guinness cookie recipe is just the tip of the proverbial iceberg. Be warned – you may need bigger pants when you are done spending time with them. LOL!

Comments

