Cricket anyone?

Be forewarned that this post is riddled with sports metaphors – and that I neither play nor actively watch any competitive sports.  I just felt like using them and so you have a 50/50 chance that I have the right sports/life combo.  Play ball!

We all have unique and busy lives… okay, some of you might not be that busy, but I’m sure you have some stuff to do.   Sometimes things get ratcheted up a notch and life goes from “normal” busy to something akin to standing in a batting cage while the pitching machine hurls 102 mile an hour fast balls at you along with a few curve balls for good measure.  There is nowhere to run.  That leaves just two choices: stand still and end up looking like a bad piece of tenderized meat or swing hard and fast until that @#$)@9 machine runs out of ammo.

Dead center in the batter’s cage is where life has been for me lately.  I’ve spent an obscene amount of time reading self-help books, start up business info, and of course, the all telling daily horoscopes.   This trifecta of printed knowledge, along with a couple of shake ups in my personal life, has been the catalyst for some major changes.   Time to start knocking them out of the park.

The moments of leisurely strolling the green and waiting for just the right wind speed velocity to take my swing are over.  No more meandering!  It’s time to be the driving force behind….well, me.   And now that I am a self-educated home personal improvement expert I want to share this – you should be the driving force behind….well, you!

We are individual athletes playing our best game in the team sport called life.  (Sports metaphor AND cliché – nice touch don’t you think?)  Why spend the time on the sidelines watching other players make the scores?  If weeks of daily horoscopes and boot strap entrepreneur biographies have taught me anything it’s this – we are our own best chance of success.

I for one would like a good Zamboni – the clean slate maker of the sports world.    Nothing says launching point like a three ton ice scraper smoothing over the bumps and rough patches to create a fresh surface for the next game.   So saddle up and let’s get this rodeo started.  Game on!

4 thoughts on “Cricket anyone?

  1. *Lurve* the sports metaphors. Also the message. I think you’re absolutely right. The only one who is going to try the hardest to make your life a success is you. You might have a support system in place, but when all is said and done you have to take charge of your own life.

    • Thanks Kathryn. I often think that the biggest stumbling block is not what life hurls our way, but ourselves 😉 BTW – liked your post about the sun tea. Reminds me of my childhood when my friend’s Mom would have jars of it steeping in the summer rays.

    • LOL – it was my lead in to my sports references. I could write about cricket but it could take days – the game is THAT long. 😉

Comments

